Dinner at Food Junction, J8, Bishan

An easy fallback dinner option when the queue at Din Tai Fung is too long. In general the order at which I’ll eat in restaurants at J8 is this
1. Din Tai Fung
2. Food Court
3. … Everything else.
Don’t really fancy the Aone claypot house, I want to try Ambush again but nothing on their menu really attracts me, Watami serves pretty weird food – huge menu but nothing that they specialize in, I used to like Kazokutei’s Udon but they’ve got really bad reviews since and have also removed their omu rice from the menu. When I’m feeling student-y I’ll eat at Pastamania or Yoshinoya :P And once in a very blue moon we’ll go to Swensen’s. Essentially everything else is a Plan B if the Din Tai Fung queue is too long. Oh I actually also quite like Ramenplay but we just ate there quite recently because of the Father’s Day offer :P.

Eating at food courts is soon going to be luxury for me when we move to a new country, which explains our carpe diem style dining now.


They ran out of white carrot cake the day we went – pity! The carrot cake here + chilli is really nice – they fry it in the crispy style and is awesome when you spread their pretty spicy sambal over the top. Anyway so we ordered the char kway teow instead – the first bite is always best because you are surprised at just how much wok hei can be packed into a single forkful of noodles. I think this place has even better seasoning than Guan Kee, but we neither of us really like the egg noodles used, which seem a little stale. It was decent, but the dish that keeps me coming back is the carrot cake.


Another thing I’m a big fan of in the J8 food court is the dry beef noodles – I’ve been eating this since I was a teenager in JC and I don’t really know what beef noodles are supposed to taste like (never had the Seah Street one when it was open) but I really liked this. Of course the main difference between most beef noodle stalls are which cuts of the cow they serve, and what kind of meatballs. I like my beef lean (flank), and my sauce thick and flavourful, which is why this place is perfect for me cause I really don’t care for all the other cuts.

NB: For international readers who are wondering at my choice of the phrase “dry beef noodles” when the picture shows an extremely undry bowl of noodles, “dry noodles” in Singapore basically means noodles that are not served in soup. They also do “wet” beef noodles, which is served in the stock they use to cook the beef. Same for wonton noodles, which will be served in the soup they use to boil the dumplings and the noodles. ‘Dry’ means they toss together some special meat based sauce, usually viscous, that is used to coat the noodle and most people opt for that when the weather is too hot for soups. I prefer dry noodles myself because they are less filling, and they still serve you a bowl of the soup on the side.

Leave a Reply

