Crostini


teapot blackboard from Typo ($5)


Pecorino and parmigiano reggiano with my microplane grater. Thanks Fabio for the pecorino! I just finished the bulk of it yesterday shaving it over my lasagna.


Bruschetta tomatoes on the vine from Holland. My picky fiance doesn’t like tomatoes from the region, and I do agree that tomatoes from Italy taste so much better but why do they have to be so expensive? ($15 for this lot) Tomato garnish for bruschetta is easy to make, just olive oil, garlic, balsamic vinegar, fresh shredded basil, salt and pepper.


Portabellas in a parmesan cream sauce. Was trying to recreate Modesto’s portabello parmigiano starter. It tasted pretty good (my parmesan sauce was from Eataly in Florence) but the portabellas were a bit small (they shrunk a whole lot) Can’t wait to be back in the land of big and cheap mushrooms!


Brioche from my breadmaker. The recipe I used was actually pretty good. I’ll link to it when I find it.

Home made meals with fresh ingredients are so good because you need so little skill to cobble something delicious together.

Leave a Reply

