Lazy Sunday Afternoon Brunch at Frank’s Oyster House

This place serves an amazing brunch menu, and one that is not all eggs benedict and sausage gravy with biscuits either – it’s got fried chicken with waffles! And they’re the best fried chicken with waffles I’ve ever had. They do have a happy hour, which I’ve not tried out because the small plates they serve for Happy Hour are less to my liking than those at Pair’s, which I think are run by the same people.


We had a carafe of unsweetened tea that was served with a glassful of ice and a little syrup pitcher


I ordered the bruleed grapefruit – it looks really simple to make actually, I think I might try it out at home so my kitchen torch will get some more exercise rather than only during my twice a year creme brulee. Anyway this was delicious with the crackly eggshell crust of sugar on top and the slightly warm grapefruit flesh underneath.


Z ordered the Sausage gravy, biscuits, and poached eggs – he says it’s the gravy he likes best in Seattle, because it’s slightly similar to the thanksgiving gravy sort which has a great meat flavour and not so much cream. And we’ve had biscuits and gravy at a lot of places here..


I had the fried chicken and waffles, and i’m definitely going to order this every time I’m back here for brunch. The chicken is seasoned magnificently, and goes perfectly with their waffles, salted butter, and maple syrup. So unhealthy but so worth it.

This is one of those restaurants whose hype does not die over time – I am every bit as enthused about their food as I was when I ate there and can’t wait to go back.

One thought on “Lazy Sunday Afternoon Brunch at Frank’s Oyster House

Leave a Reply

