Dinner Take-out from Pho Viet Anh

Another of our lazy to go out days… There’s just something addictive about lounging around in your pajamas. So of course I dispatched my carrier pigeon to retrieve the take-out. Pho Viet Anh is this vietnamese restaurant on Roosevelt that recently sent us a flier advertising its free shrimp rolls on orders above $25. It’s surprisingly difficult to attain that, mind you. We had to order an extra banh mi sandwich for lunch the next day in order to make it up. They were out of their grilled banana sticky rice cakes too, which didn’t help things. I had to figure out how to make them myself at home! Which I suppose is a sort of life skill, and which also means I’ll never order that from a Vietnamese place again since I can make it anytime I want.


We had the Lemon grass chicken with vermicelli in fish sauce. Their vermicelli ‘salads’ are typically tossed in a tamarind sauce, but I thought the fish sauce version would be more legit… Isn’t it done with fish sauce everywhere else? Anyway the fish sauce here was really strong, so maybe I’m wrong and the tamarind sauce version is more common. In any case, it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t mindblowing either. The noodles at wrap & roll for example are much springier and lighter.


z had the beef steak pho, which we both liked.


He likes beef balls.. me, not so much. I hate the chewy taste of tendons ground into meat :S And who knows what else is in there man.


Here are the complimentary pork and shrimp spring rolls :P Actually, not bad at all. It came with some plum chilli sauce for dipping. Due to incessant take-outs and the fact that I have inherited my grandma’s penchant for keeping sauces from take outs I now have a huge assortment of little tubs of sauces from various Asian restaurants that are slowly getting inedible and unidentifiable. I mean, who knows when you might need them?? It might just be the secret ingredient to kick a pseudo Asian dish into legit Asian dish territory… I’m not kidding about my grandma, she used to go to Mcdonalds to take the free ketchup packets.. to give them to us.

Leave a Reply

