Dinner at Root Table

After I uploaded all my pictures from September going forward yesterday, I now have 36 posts in my backlog. THIRTY-SIX! Can’t wait to bang them all out, there are some super pictures and I got really hungry editing the photos :S We wanted to get udon in the middle of the night last night while I was editing all of them but had missed the closing time at U:don by 8 minutes :(

So this is about Root Table, an extremely tiny restaurant in the middle of Ballard. If you blink you might just miss it, that’s how inconspicuous its entrance is.

Root Table
Mango chicken lettuce wraps – one of the specials of the day. They sauteed some ground chicken with mango and lots of other vegetables, and you stuff them into little lettuce cups. It was alright, I suppose, but had far too many veggies for me. Also the mango chicken was kind of bland.

Root Table
Pretty much the only dish I liked here was the seafood souffle – random seafood like clams, mussels, shrimp, baked into a slightly sweet and spicy egg custard. Great over rice! I think this was a special too.

Root Table
The roti with curry – main reason we came here because I saw this on Shevonne’s instagram :P Roti prata is abundant in Singapore and I miss it so much. Nobody here can fry it up and toss it properly. Most roti prata vendors in Singapore are indian or malay (you wouldn’t trust a chinese person to do a good prata, all we know is how to eat it) and they flip the prata (like a pancake) pretty much like how one would toss a pizza. It’s supposed to be flaky, greasy, salty, and super delicious. The one here was alright, and you can see from the picture it turned out more doughy than flaky, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it came frozen in a packet. For a really decent roti canai one has to go to Perche No, an Italian restaurant in Fremont I will be blogging about soon. The serving of curry was minuscule and we asked for a second bowl, which we were charged for but not informed about the charge. Fine.

Root Table
The chicken satay salad was basically grilled chicken chopped up and put over veggies. In general this meal was far tooo vegetabl-y for me and I’m pretty sure I’m never going back! The tables in here are pretty cool though and are made of polished tree stumps. There’s a slight foresty vibe going on and it’s a great place to bring hippie friends. I bet they serve kombucha.

One thought on “Dinner at Root Table

Leave a Reply

