Dinner at goo Italiano, Clarke Quay (closed)

I stumbled upon this new restaurant (well, it was new a year ago) randomly while surfing chope and decided to check it out. I feel that Japanese restaurateurs are very good at making authentic food of other cuisines compared to other nationalities (e.g. L’Operetta, Omakase burger, etc.). The custom hasn’t quite picked up yet, I think.


Fritti Misti – this was a little disappointing, being basically tempura. The batter was all wrong and not really seasoned. We asked for a dish of kewpie to eat it with. Also it was interesting that they fritti-ed zucchini and cornichons along with the seafood, which I have never seen before. I would have preferred more seafood.


Focaccia in the complimentary bread basket


Soft boiled egg with anchovy and mayo – very nice! The mayonnaise tasted house made and very flavourful, almost like a bearnaise. They draped half an anchovy over each egg, which is kind of stingy. I mean, who cuts up anchovies? EDIT: I made this at home myself haha since I was so inspired by their delicious eggs and it turns out half an anchovy is just right lol. One is too salty. Well I guess it depends on your anchovies and how salty they are.


Napkin they printed with their company logo which I thought was so cute and home-made looking 😛


Interior which is pretty in an industrial way with lots of concrete and black powder coated lights, plus some mosaic tiling


Tokyo lasagna – the star of the show! It would be more meaningful if they just called it molten lasagna, because “Tokyo lasagna” hardly has any meaning to it, unless you’ve eaten it before. It was a very good lasagna suited for the Asian palate, since the tomato sauce in it was sweeter than actual tomato sauce. Great creamy bolognese with the bechamel mixed in. It’s not as sweet as filipino bolognese though, which I think takes things a little too far.


Tokyo lasagna cheese pull


Porcini risotto – it had some pale blonde sheets of parmesan crisp on top, very flavorful, almost truffle like flavour. The risotto was a smidge more al dente than I’d like, but the amount of broth and the gooeyness was perfect.

Leave a comment